EGCR’s Fun Legal Fact of the Week is here to help you get through the work week by sharing a random fact about a state law, regulation, and more!
In the state of Minnesota, Identity Theft punishment varies on the cost of loss and how many civilians were affected by the criminal activity.
Here are various examples of identity theft crime and punishment scenarios in the state of Minnesota:
If there is only one victim and the cost is $250 or less, the punishment goes as follows: Prison for at least 90 days, a fine up to $700, or both.
If thee one victim has a total damage that ranges from $250 to $700, the punishment goes as follows: Prison for at least 1 year, a fine up to $3,000, or both.
For cases where there are 2-3 victims, and the total damage is a minimum of $500, the punishment goes as follows: Prison up to 5 years, a fine of $10,000 or both.
Lastly, for cases with the criminal victimized 4 or more civilians and the total damage costing up to more than $2,500, the punishment goes as follows: Prison up to 10 years, a fine of $20,000 or both.